Highlights, Analysis of High Scoring PLL All-Star Weekend


Michael Sowers was the winner of the freestyle competition.

While this year’s Premier Lacrosse League All-Star Game lacked drama, it featured enough goals to satisfy any onlooker.

Trevor Baptiste proved his general manager skills by selecting a squad that rolled to victory against Connor Farrell’s group, claiming a 33-13 win in Foxborough, Massachusetts, in the highest scoring All-Star showcase in the league’s short history.

Team Baptiste got out to a 10-2 lead after the first quarter, powered by a pair of two-point bombs and a pair of late goals that counted double thanks to a rule change, and never looked back.

In addition to winning the league’s Accuracy Challenge for a third time, Marcus Holman was named the game’s MVP with two goals, one two-pointer and four assists for Team Baptiste. Jeff Teat and Myles Jones each added five points, while four points each came from the Atlas trio of Danny Logan, Chris Gray and Bryan Costabile.

Eleven players found the back of the net for Team Baptiste. Logan Wisnauskas led Team Farrell with six points.

The game featured two experimental rules: the two-point arc was moved in from 15 feet to 13 feet and any goal scored inside the last two minutes of a quarter counted double. That led to a combined eight goals from beyond the arc and four goals that counted double. Team Baptiste pulled away thanks largely to its eight two-pointers to Team Farrell’s none.

Team Baptiste led 19-6 at halftime, then rode a six-point run stretching from the third quarter into the fourth to go up 20 for the first time. Jules Heningburg closed out the scoring for Baptiste with a goal that counted double with 37 seconds remaining in the contest.

Outside Holman’s Accuracy Challenge triumph, the skills competition featured the Whipsnakes’ Kyle Bernlohr winning the Goalie Challenge for a second straight year and the Chaos’ Jarrod Neumann claiming his second Fastest Shot victory with a howitzer that hit 118 MPH.

The Chaos’ Jack Rowlett won Fastest Player, while the Waterdogs’ Michael Sowers topped the Freestyle competition with a stellar move from behind the cage.


(In Fairfield, Connecticut)


Redwoods vs. Atlas, 5 p.m. (ESPN+)
Whipsnakes vs. Chaos, 7:45 p.m. (ESPN+)


Cannons vs. Archers, 2 p.m. (ESPN2)
Chrome vs. Waterdogs, 4:30 p.m. (ESPN2)

Most Recent

Jeremy Thompson Reunites with Lyle, Miles on Georgia Swarm

The three brothers have never played on the same NLL team.

NLL, ESPN Announce 10 Linear Games for 2022-23 Regular Season

The linear slate will feature games on ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPNews.

PLL Reveals Location, Teams Set for 2023 Championship Series in February

Each team will bring 12-man rosters to the event, set in the Sixes Olympic style.

The Rise of the Waterdogs

How a mix of title-starved veterans and established winners came together to win.

Twitter Posts