Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix for Thursday, May 26

Marie McCool and the U.S. women's national team will be on ESPN multiple times this summer during the World Lacrosse Women's World Championship. (Nick Ieradi)

Good morning. Here’s the latest from around the lacrosse world:

1. The Worldwide Leader is going global with its lacrosse coverage.

ESPN, which in recent months has elevated its NCAA lacrosse coverage and reached media rights agreements with all three professional leagues, will be the home of the next three world championships, World Lacrosse announced early Thursday.

The partnership covers the 2022 World Lacrosse Women’s Championship (June 29-July 9 in Towson, Maryland), the 2022 World Lacrosse Men’s U21 Championship (Aug. 10-20 in Limerick, Ireland) and the 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship  (June 21-July 1, 2023, in San Diego).

A total of 246 games across three international events will be carried exclusively on ESPN’s linear networks or ESPN+ in the U.S., and in 170+ territories via ESPN International.

2. Princeton has its next women’s lacrosse coach. It didn’t have to look far.

Longtime assistant Jenn Cook will succeed Hall of Famer Chris Sailer, the university announced Wednesday. Cook was on Sailer’s staff for the last 10 of the legendary coach’s 36 seasons.

In other women’s lacrosse coaching news, Old Dominion announced Wednesday that Heather Holt has resigned. Holt was the Monarchs’ head coach for 11 seasons and an assistant coach for 12 seasons prior.

Holt, who also played at ODU, said she’s retiring from coaching to spend more time with her family and follow her oldest son, Jackson, as he embarks on his college lacrosse career.

3. UIndy’s Abigail Lagos has been named the IWLCA Division II Player of the Year, the coaches association announced Wednesday.

Lagos, now a two-time IWLCA Division II Attacker of the Year, led the nation with 92 goals and added 25 assists for the NCAA champion Greyhounds.

Stonehill midfielder Emma Sullivan, Queens (N.C.) defender Grace Guglielmo and Lindenwood goalie Eleanor Kast all earned positional player of the year honors.

4. Former USA Lacrosse CEO Steve Stenersen will be inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame with the Class of 2021, USA Lacrosse announced Wednesday.

Stenersen joins Sheehan Stanwick Burch, Patty Daley, Jenny Levy, Ryan McClay, John Pirro (posthumous), Tony Resch, Kris Snider and Beth Stone as inductees. They’ll be enshrined Oct. 15.

There will be no Hall of Fame class in 2022, allowing the process to get back on schedule after inductions of the classes of 2020 and 2021 each were delayed a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.



Boston College surprised its Team IMPACT teammates Lucy and Sophie with tickets to the women’s lacrosse final four. All the feels.

Setting a reminder to watch The Lacrosse Network’s latest project, a video feature on the fascinating Romar Dennis.


  • Taylor Cummings’ take on the women’s lacrosse final four, plus an A-to-Z guide by Kenny DeJohn and Beth Ann Mayer.

  • From the mag, an eighth-grader from Dempsey Arsenault’s hometown in New Hampshire interviews the Athletes Unlimited and U.S. national team star.

  • What coaches who had the misfortune of facing Maryland this season say about the team everyone has pegged to win the NCAA men’s lacrosse championship.


Most Recent

Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix for Monday, June 5

The Buffalo Bandits win their first NLL championship since 2008

Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix For Friday, June 2

Scane and O'Neill win Tewaaraton Awards, Wilkinson steps down at Marist.

Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix for Thursday, June 1

PLL 25-man roster, IWLCA D-I and D-III awards, more transfer news.

Dialed In: Your Lacrosse Fix for Wednesday, May 31

Notre Dame keeps winning, picking up the prize of the transfer portal, per a report.

Twitter Posts