Brown's Molloy Named Preseason Player of the Year


Dylan Molloy won the Tewaaraton Award in 2016 after tallying 116 points – No. 3 on the NCAA's single-season list – for Brown's fast-paced offense.

As another lacrosse season approaches, preseason predictions are coming out in droves. Will Dylan Molloy repeat as a Tewaaraton winner? What other names could emerge to test him? As part of the February NCAA preview edition of US Lacrosse Magazine, hear are the Nike/US Lacrosse Preseason Players of the Year in Division I, II and III men's lacrosse.

Division I

Nike/USL Preseason Player of the Year
Dylan Molloy, Brown

Coming off the most prolific season (116 points) by anyone not named Thompson in NCAA history — and with new coach Mike Daly offering continuity to the Bears’ run-and-gun system — there’s no reason to believe Molloy won’t repeat as the Tewaaraton Award winner.

Nike/USL Preseason All-Americans

Dylan Molloy, Brown, Sr.
Pat Spencer, Loyola, So.
Connor Cannizzaro, Denver, Sr.

Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame, Sr.
Zach Miller, Denver, Sr. *
Sergio Salcido, Syracuse, R-Sr.

Long-Stick Midfield
Larken Kemp, Brown, Sr.

Short-Stick Defensive Midfield
Isiah Davis-Allen, Maryland, Sr.

Christian Burgdorf, Denver, Sr.
Chris Fennell, Navy, Sr.
Austin Pifani, North Carolina, Sr.

Trevor Baptiste, Denver, Jr.

Shane Doss, Notre Dame, Sr.

* Will not play in 2017. This list was compiled prior to a Jan. 16 report confirming Miller is not enrolled at Denver. 

Division II

Nike/USL Preseason Player of the Year
Kevin Reisman, Limestone

The Saints’ sensational faceoff specialist holds NCAA Division II single-season records for winning percentage (74.8 in 2015 and 2016) and ground balls (252/11.45 per game in 2016), as well as the mark for fastest goal to start a game (5 seconds vs. North Greenville in 2016).

Players to Watch

Max Allen, Merrimack, Sr., A
Andrew Kew, Tampa, So., A
Kevin Reisman, Limestone, Sr., M
Brendan Entenmann, Le Moyne, Jr., D
Jonathan Lynott,  NYIT, Sr., D


Kyle Tucker emerged as one of the top defensemen in the country in 2016, leading Salisbury to the national title.

Division III

Nike/USL Preseason Player of the Year
Kyle Tucker, Salisbury

The historically trigger-happy Sea Gulls often were content to let their defense — and therefore close defensemen like Tucker — fall by the wayside.  Not so in 2016, when the Sea Gulls actually ranked 10th in Division III allowing 6.75 goals per game.  Tucker, a reserve long-stick midfielder as a freshman, emerged as one of the nation’s top takeaway defensemen as a sophomore.

Players to Watch

Ryan Lee, RIT, Sr., A
Max Tennant, Ohio Wesleyan, So., A
Zach Richman, Tufts, Sr., M
Kyle Tucker, Salisbury, Jr., D
Jameal Hadeed, Eastern, Jr., G

Most Recent

Metzbower Brings Offensive Brainpower, Recruiting Prowess to Denver

Two of the game's brightest tacticians, Matt Brown and David Metzbower now share offices.

Inside Lacrosse No. 1 Recruit Alexa Spallina Commits to Syracuse

Spallina will join her three brothers at Syracuse when she steps foot on campus.

Division I Men's Impact Transfers for 2024

The transfer portal has left its mark on lacrosse after the COVID shutdown of 2020.

Division I Women's Impact Transfers for 2024

The transfer portal has left its mark on lacrosse after the COVID shutdown of 2020.

Twitter Posts

Get the best and latest from delivered weekly straight to your inbox: